acoralsea

life is like the tide…it comes and goes on its own time

LA Weight Loss experience

people tell me i don’t look my age, or that i look just fine in spite of my complaints about my weight. truth is, i don’t look that great and my stomach is a smiley face – not a pretty sight. my very-petite-size-nothing-20-something-daughter couldn’t believe she actually can’t get into a very expensive designer skirt that I haven’t been able to wear since menopause hit 5 years ago. ‘you were that thin?’ she asked in astonishment. well…yeh, i was!

so, frustrated by facing the prospect of upsizing one more time just to find something nice to wear on a trip to corporate, i drove across the parking lot and walked into the brand spanking new LA Weight Loss center. at least there i wouldn’t have to commit to group therapy, maybe only expensive food.

well, this is the beginning of my LAWL experience. i promise to hold nothing back and tell all so that anyone who is considering, or is already enrolled, can be prepared.

first of all, the counselors are former LAWL participants who try to inspire you with their own stories. ok, that’s a good tactic, and an expected one. don’t we all relate to ‘been there, done that?’

secondly, they work on some sort of commission plan. i got lucky and hit the program on a half-off promotion with a rebate equivalent to the other half of the normal cost. if I stick to my 52-week commitment, i will have gotten the program for free. that’s just for the counseling part of the program.

the costly part of the program is in the foods and supplements. because of my various and sundry food restrictions and lupus, i’m not a ‘candidate’ for most of their supplements, like the carb and fat blockers. apparently, there are ingredients that would be harmful to me. hmmm…that’s a red flag for the general troops, i’d say. when i balked at forking over $500+ for a few months worth of their ‘highly recommended’ Lite Bars, opting instead to spend the ridiculous sum of $32 for a week’s supply (2/day = 14), and admitting i may be nuts for doing it that way, it dawned on me that i was depriving my friendly counselor a commission on what would have been a feather in her sales cap.

too bad. it’s my bloody money and i’ll spend it whichever way i want. besides, who has room to store several months worth of these darned bars, anyway. at $32/week, i can expect to spend $1664 on bars, alone. that works out to roughly $2.30/bar, more than twice what i spend on my favorite protein and energy bars, or almost $5/day. considering i don’t smoke, drink or patronize the local latte factory, i suppose this could be considered my ‘vice’ spending.

today, in addition to 1 box of bars to carry me through the rest of this week (since i didn’t finish both boxes last week), i bought a ‘survival pack’ for $19.95, containing 3 LA Snacks, 2 JetStarts, 2 slimming drinks and 1 box of LA Splash drink mixes (10/box) that you add to your bottled water, all packed in an attractive insulated lunch container that will be very useful in my gear bag, anyway.

the LA Lite bars that i’ve tried so far have the consistency of marzipan coated in chocolate. the flavor is okay, if you’re used to protein and energy bars, which i am. but, they have somewhat of a laxative effect on me (the counselor said they have the opposite effect on her). you’re supposed to eat 2 of these bars per day; i’ve not been able to do that consistently, yet.

the Cheese Curls from the LA Snacks line have absolutely no flavor whatsoever. i’ll be taking the bag to compare to my favorite crunchy cheese snacks. no flavor, no sense of satisfaction, is how i see it.

Technorati Tags: , ,

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

